Bring Me Back by B.A. Paris

BringMeBack

Buy it here: Bring Me Back by B.A. Paris

She went missing. He moved on. A whole world of secrets remained—until now.

Finn and Layla are young, in love, and on vacation. They’re driving along the highway when Finn decides to stop at a service station to use the restroom. He hops out of the car, locks the doors behind him, and goes inside. When he returns Layla is gone—never to be seen again. That is the story Finn told to the police. But it is not the whole story.

Ten years later Finn is engaged to Layla’s sister, Ellen. Their shared grief over what happened to Layla drew them close and now they intend to remain together. Still, there’s something about Ellen that Finn has never fully understood. His heart wants to believe that she is the one for him…even though a sixth sense tells him not to trust her.

Then, not long before he and Ellen are to be married, Finn gets a phone call. Someone from his past has seen Layla—hiding in plain sight. There are other odd occurrences: Long-lost items from Layla’s past that keep turning up around Finn and Ellen’s house. Emails from strangers who seem to know too much. Secret messages, clues, warnings. If Layla is alive—and on Finn’s trail—what does she want? And how much does she know?

A tour de force of psychological suspense, Bring Me Back will have you questioning everything and everyone until its stunning climax.

You know, as a blogger, I tend to have a lot of books floating around at any given time. Months ago, I snagged another book by this author, and I just haven’t gotten around to it (#bookwormproblems). But then I got a chance to read “Bring Me Back” and I was so excited since I’ve been eager to read this author.

Oh.My.God. My mind was absolutely blown.

I finished several days ago and I’m still thinking about the story and the crazy thing is that once I knew the conclusion, it made me want to re-read the book because it has made me see everything differently. That is how you know you’ve got an amazing thriller in your hands.

Finn and Layla were in love. Until things fell apart. Layla goes missing and Finn eventually moves on. Twelve years later, Finn is engaged to Ellen, Layla’s sister. But suddenly Finn starts getting clues that Layla hasn’t disappeared like everyone thought.

One of the best aspects of this story is that you truly have no idea who is a good or bad person. You think you’ve totally figured it out and then you realize you were wrong. Or were you? It was so much fun trying to guess at where this story would lead. None of the characters are overly likable, but you also don’t dislike them. For me, that helped this story go to the next level. Because I was unsure of the characters, I was always slightly suspicious. Then I would think I was figuring it out, until I wasn’t.

Then when I got to the end, it was so insane. I always feel like you get the blurb saying “you won’t believe the ending”. But with this book, it’s true.

If you love thrillers, or are looking for a book that will be different than anything else you’ve read, you need to read “Bring Me Back” by B.A. Paris.

 

Advertisements

Social Creature by Tara Isabella Burton

SocialCreature

Buy it here: Social Creature by Tara Isabella Burton

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Donna Tartt, a dark, propulsive and addictive debut thriller, splashed with all the glitz and glitter of New York City.

They go through both bottles of champagne right there on the High Line, with nothing but the stars over them… They drink and Lavinia tells Louise about all the places they will go together, when they finish their stories, when they are both great writers-to Paris and to Rome and to Trieste…

Lavinia will never go. She is going to die soon. 

Louise has nothing. Lavinia has everything. After a chance encounter, the two spiral into an intimate, intense, and possibly toxic friendship. A Talented Mr. Ripley for the digital age, this seductive story takes a classic tale of obsession and makes it irresistibly new.

This book is unlike anything I’ve read before. Even now that I’ve finished it, I truly can’t decide what I think about it. But the book itself has stayed with me and I’ve thought about it more than a few times.

Louise Wilson is just a girl trying to make it in New York City. Insecure and unsure of herself, she works several jobs to get by. One, as an SAT tutor, and this is how she meets Lavinia. Louise is easy to forget. You could pass her in a crowd and not think anything of it. But Lavinia, an actress/student/writer/wealthy kid stands out. And once Lavinia pulls you into her world, it’s hard to let go of that lifestyle. This is exactly what happens to Louise.

The way this story is told was enjoyable for me. You feel like the author is actually telling you the story, and that adds an extra layer of depth. It kept me on edge because initially, we aren’t sure how nefarious this story might turn. You really don’t know who is bad and who is good. Both Louise and Lavinia are not the most lovable characters. It’s a delicate push and pull between them and the author maintains a perfect balance so the story always has just the right amount of tension.

This story was fascinating. I would stop reading and I found myself sitting and thinking about Louise and Lavinia and what they would do next. What weird person Louise would meet and how she would handle her changing life. What would Lavinia think as Louise starts to branch out on her own with Lavinia’s friends? I would absolutely recommend this book. It was easy to read, had the perfect elements to keep me on edge (as I think any good thriller should do), and the ending left me speechless.

 

 

Even Money by Alessandra Torre

unnamed

Buy it here: Even Money by Alessandra Torre

From an NYT Bestseller! Sex and suspense collide in this jaw-dropping story of a Vegas casino owner and the one woman who could destroy his perfect life…

Sometimes it only takes a minute. A connection of eyes across a room, a quickened heartbeat, and everything changes.
I was a cocktail waitress who could barely decide her coffee order.
He owned half of Vegas and had the reputation to match.

I should have run away from him. Instead, I stepped closer.

Then, the lies started.
Rumors spread.
Stalking commenced.
Someone died.

It didn’t stop me from falling in love.

*This is book 1 in a sexy new duet. The second book, Double Down, will release on June 18th*

I’m really into the book duets lately. I don’t know why, but I think I can handle it since I know the next book is coming out so soon. So when Alessandra Torre announced “Even Money”, I knew I could dive in without fear of the cliffhanger.

This book took me awhile to get into, to be honest. I liked the general concept, but there were times when it felt a little choppy to me. It wasn’t until later in the book that I realized that we see Bell in first person, and everyone else in third person. Once I realized that, things seemed to flow better.

This story does have some insta-love, but yet it didn’t feel that way. It felt deeper. I was impressed with that because this story moves fast and there is a decent age gap between Bell and Dario. So normally that trope (older, wealthy man with young college girl) tends to be a little cheesier (which is totally fine). But the author gave a lot of depth to both characters, which made everything much more believable.

For me, the back half of the book was more enjoyable. Things start to connect as you realize how the puzzle pieces are starting to fall into place.

The ending of this book…wow. I did not see it coming. The author really did it justice because the end comes up so fast and then it’s like, “what did I just read?”. It was shocking. That said, it’s making me crazy for the second book and I’m really happy that it will be releasing on June 18th.

If you like duets, or you’re already a fan of Alessandra Torre, you will definitely enjoy the first book in the All In Series.